The San Antonio Peace Laureate is a voice of wisdom and experience to speak for peace,  justice and compassion.

The laureate is announced at the annual Blessing of the Peacemakers on the last weekend of January, the inaugural event of the annual Season for Nonviolence.   They serve for a year, until the next Blessing. Their names are engraved on a peace pole in the courtyard of the Whitley Theological Center at Oblate School of Theology, where the annual ceremony is currently held.

The Peace Laureates have been, to date:

  • 2008: Dr. Ruth Lofgren (deceased)
  • 2009: The Rev. Dr. Claude Black (deceased)
  • 2010: Jane and Charles (Woody) Tuck (both deceased) (watch video)
  • 2011: Patty & Rod Radle
  • 2012: Imam Omar Shakir
  • 2013: Sr. Martha Ann Kirk & the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word
  • 2014: Rabbi Samuel and Lynn Stahl
  • 2015: Rosie Castro
  • 2016: Fr. Ron Rolheiser
  • 2017: Dr. Rajam Ramamurthy (watch video)
  • 2018: T.C. Calvert & Mario Salas (watch video)
  • 2019: Patricia Castillo, Rebecca Flores & Nickie Valdez (watch video)
  • 2020: Cappy Lawton, G.P. Singh & Lionel Sosa (watch video)

2020 San Antonio Peace Laureates: Lionel Sosa, G.P. Singh & Cappy Lawton

Share This