Compassion Beads were inspired by a meditation exercise created by Dr. James Doty. The beads start with Compassion and end with Love. The order of the beads is: Compassion, Dignity, Equanimity, Forgiveness, Gratitude, Humility, Integrity, Justice, Kindness and Love. The bead string ends with a golden bead symbolizing The Golden Rule: “Treat others and the planet as you wish to be treated.”

Compassion Beads

Compassion beads are 10mm wooden beads strung on a red cord. The diameter of the strand is about 1½” (38mm.) They are now packaged in a plastic-free, biodegradable glassine pouch sealed with a gold disk. Each set of beads comes with a card explaining their origin and use. Sale of compassion beads supports compassionate San Antonio in its work in our community.

Compassion beads cost $5 per set, plus a flat rate of $5 for shipping within the United States, per order, regardless of the number of bead sets. You will have the opportunity to increase the number of beads your order in the shopping cart.

These shipping charges apply to US orders only.

If you would like beads shipped outside the United States, you will be charged a flat rate of $20 for shipping.

WE ARE CURRENTLY NOT SHIPPING TO AUSTRALIA, as the only option available to us is  prohibitively expensive. 

Compassionate San Antonio is an all-volunteer operation, and we typically ship beads once or twice a week at the most economical rate available at the post office. If you have a tight deadline, please let us know via the e-mail form and we’ll try our best to accommodate your needs.


Have a Question? Ask Us!

3 + 1 =

Alphabet of the Heart Podcast

Want to learn more? This Podcast Series features Dr James R. Doty, Neurosurgeon and Director of the Center for Compassion and Altruism Research Education (CCARE) at Stanford University, and Dr James Kirby, Clinical Psychologist and Visiting Scholar at CCARE. Each episode features Dr Doty and Dr Kirby discussing a mnemonic Dr Doty created, “The Alphabet of the Heart”, which he wrote about in his book, “Into the Magic Shop”. Dr Doty and Dr Kirby discuss each letter of the mnemonic in, which includes compassion, dignity, equanimity, forgiveness, gratitude, humility, integrity, justice, kindness, and love. In each episode he provides personal reflections, research on the attribute, as well as practical tips to cultivate that specific attribute.

Share This